Westfield Spanish National Honor Society Members 2023

La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica, as the organization is called in Spanish, is similar to the National Honor Society.  Only students in their third and fourth years of Spanish are eligible to become members.  To earn membership, students must prove to be responsible and keep a solid Spanish GPA.  Students in Spanish 3 must have a Spanish GPA of at least 3.5 and those in Spanish 4 must have at least a 3.2.  

In the past, students in this organization have collected school supplies that were delivered to an impoverished school in Belize and an orphanage in Ecuador.  In addition, many participated in a toy drive collecting Christmas gifts for children in Peru.  Students have also written Spanish essays, poems and stories that have been published in a Spanish language magazine called Albricias.

Last week, returning members and new inductees were honored in their Spanish classes for their dedication to learning Spanish and for the excellence with which they have done so.  

The Don Quijote chapter of La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica is proud to welcome back our only two year member Emma Hamilton.  Emma has maintained straight A’s throughout four years of Spanish.  Soon, Emma will be awarded Mejor Estudiante del capítulo.  This award is given to the most active and highest acheiving member of the Westfield chapter of this organization.  Winners of this award are published each year in the Albricias magazine and online on the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica homepage. As a second year member, Emma received a pin for her academic letter in addition to the red and gold (the colors of Spain) honor cords any new members from the senior class will receive for their  graduation ceremony.  

This year we have three new members from the Spanish 4 class:  Giovanni Galeazzi, Abigail Halverson and Grace Phillis.  The chapter also welcomes five new inductees from the Spanish 3 class: (Senior) Tanner Popp and (Juniors) Leah Coenen, Mayghan Kemnitz, Anthony Manley, and Ella Shillinglaw.  

All of these students are extremely hard workers and many have a gift in learning languages.  It is a privilege to recognize their achievement.  Congratulations or ¡Felicidades!


Top Row:  Tanner Popp, Giovanni Galeazzi, Abigail Halverson, Grace Phillis, Emma Hamilton

Bottom Row:  Anthony Manley, Leah Coenen, Ella Shillinglaw, Mayghan Kemnitz